Teaching English to the Big Kids

Part of my responsibilities as the volunteer English teacher in Futaleufú is working with high schoolers and adults. This is the first time I have had much experience working with kids older than twelve, at least since high school I suppose.

Me with the debate team at breakfast before the first day of the debate competition

Me with the debate team at breakfast before the first day of the debate competition

Debate: I got to co-lead the English debate team, a group of 6 high school students that chose to participate in the national debate competition in May and June of this year. It has been really fun working with them, exploring debate together, and developing our arguments and speaking skills.

The winning team at the 2014 PIAP Debate Competition regionals in Puerto Montt.

The winning team at the 2014 PIAP Debate Competition regionals in Puerto Montt.

Between May and June, I traveled three times to the regional capital of Puerto Montt with the small debate team and with my friend and fellow gringo English teacher Mike. It was an exciting experience for the girls, not to mention for me! The big city is very different from quiet Futaleufú. The debate competition was well-organized and in my opinion a really cool opportunity for high schoolers to develop and exhibit not only their English skills but also their critical thinking skills.

The advertisement I posted all around town at the beginning of the year.

The advertisement I posted all around town for my class.

Adult class: This year is my first time teaching a group of adults– well, perhaps apart from the origami lessons I used to give to my aunts, uncles and grandparents when I was a kid. Origami kind of teaches itself, but a language not so much. True, just by being present to answer questions and lead discussions in English that is doing something, but I’ve been trying to come up with ways to give the class some structure and direction. It was a rocky start for me (no students can make you more nervous than your peers, right!?) but I think I’m getting the hang of it.

I try to base the content on the level and desired topics of the students. The students who have been coming are all around intermediate level, but some have also come who are beginners and advanced. This past semester we covered verbs have, be, do; question words; family; directions; and moods. I use a lot of powerpoint presentations with this class, give a lot of conversation starters, and have done some “show and tell” like activities where the students have to share about their family, town, etc. (Here’s one powerpoint presentation I’ve used with the class – Adult English – Talking about ourselves)

High School: The other day I substituted for the first time in several high school classrooms. Teenagers are really something else, aren’t they. Even accounting for the fact that I was not at all prepared for the situation, I have to say facing a classroom of high schoolers is very challenging. It was a relief going back to the happy faces of my Pre-K through 2nd graders 🙂

Me on the ferry to El Espolón.

Me on the ferry to El Espolón.

El Espolón: I’m not sure if 3rd through 5th graders count as “big kids” but for me they do. Every Thursday (when nothing goes wrong with the ferry, when I’m not traveling to Puerto Montt, and when school is not canceled for meetings) I travel to the rural sector of El Espolón to teach the 5 children who live and attend school there. (After 6th grade, children in the rural schools have to attend school in Futaleufú where they stay over in the school Monday through Friday.)

The kids from El Espolón with teacher Jonathan and their house projects.

The kids from El Espolón with teacher Jonathan and their house projects.

Teaching in El Espolón is easily one of the funnest parts of my week. It’s a small group of kids and we do a lot of games, songs and group challenges. Because it’s a small group I feel like I can get to know the learning of each of the kids. I work alongside Jonathan, a Chilean English teacher who recently moved to Futaleufú from Puerto Montt. It’s a really good relationship because I think we each learn a bit from the other. Plus it’s nice to have company on the 3-hour trip to and from El Espolón!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Teaching English to the Big Kids

  1. Jamie says:

    Loved your latest!

Leave a comment